Ealing shortlisted for five transport awards

Ealing Council has been shortlisted in five categories in the National Transport Awards, including Local Authority of the Year.

New cycle safety system trialled on lorry in Ealing

Competing with more than 360 other entries, the council made the final shortlist in the following five categories:

  • Local Authority of the Year
  • Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement (Cycle Safety Shield)
  • Excellence in Cycling and Walking (Biking Schools)
  • Contribution to Sustainable Transport (Biking Schools)
  • Excellence in Technology (Cycle Safety Shield)

Two of the nominations were for the council’s innovative work to develop the use of the Cycle Safety Shield – a collision avoidance system that the council has fitted to its HGVs to alert drivers if cyclists, pedestrians or motorcyclists are in danger.

The council is the first organisation to fit the system, powered by Mobileye, to all its vehicles. The council’s highway maintenance company, Murrill Construction Ltd, has also fitted the system to all its vehicles and waste and recycling contractors Amey have agreed to do the same.

The Biking Schools programme also secured the borough’s place in two more categories. The programme, which is the first of its kind in London, means all pupils at participating schools undertake compulsory cycle training. A cycling coach visits the school each week to provide help and advice, holding cycle maintenance sessions, organising bike rides and running after school clubs and competitions.

Cabinet member for transport, environment and leisure, Councillor Bassam Mahfouz, said: “It’s an honour for us to be shortlisted in so many categories for these prestigious awards. Our biking schools programme is getting children and their families active, proving to be transformational; whilst the innovative Cycle Safety Shield is a vital piece of kit making a world of difference in creating safer streets for pedestrians, cyclists and other road users.”

The winners of the awards will be announced at an event in London on Thursday, 8 October.